Impact and engagement

Research degree 13

The Centre’s major form of engagement is through International Writers at Leeds (IWAL), which began in 2012 as an ongoing programme of events with visiting writers from around the world, often accompanied by their translators and publishers. Readings are open to the public and take place either on the University campus or in venues such as Leeds Central Library or the Quaker Meeting Hall.

Recent speakers have included Mustapha Benfodil, El Chojín, Belén Gache, Robin Ouzman Hislop, Fiorenza Floraline Menini, Masatsugu Ono, Yousif M. Qasimeiyeh, Ulrike Almut Sandig, Marta Sanz, Lawrence Scott, Tomoka Shibasaki, Zoë Wicomb, and Zhang Xinxin. The Director of IWAL is Professor Duncan Wheeler. 

The Centre also hosts the annual British Comparative Literature Association/ British Centre for Literary Translation John Dryden Competition. The Chair of the judges’ panel is Dr Jacob Blakesley. More information can be found at:

Research projects

Members of the Centre are currently involved in research on the following projects and in collaboration with the following centres within the University: 

Centre for African Studies (LUCAS)
Institute for Colonial and Postcolonial Studies (ICPS)
Institute for Medieval Studies (IMS)
Leeds Centre for Dante Studies
Leeds Centre for New Chinese Writing
Legacies of War
Transnational Fantastic

Academic team

  • Ikhlas Abdul Hadi (East Asian Studies)
  • Bashar Almaani (Translation Studies)
  • Professor Margaret Atack (French Studies)
  • Dr Bev Back (Classics)
  • Dr Alessio Baldini (Italian Studies)
  • Dr Jacob Blakesley (Translation Studies)
  • Dr Rachel Bower (Cheney Early Career Fellow, LHRI)
  • Dr Roger Brock (Classics)
  • Professor Ros Brown-Grant (French Studies)
  • Dr Anthony Carrigan (School of English)
  • Leonardo Costantini (Classics, PhD)
  • Dr Ingo Cornils (German Studies)
  • Dr Luca Degl’Innocenti (Italian Studies)
  • Dr Sarah Dodd (East Asian Studies)
  • Dr Sam Durrant (School of English)
  • Natalie Enright (Classics, PhD)
  • Dr Helen Finch (German Studies)
  • Professor Frank Finlay (German Studies)
  • Dr Denis Flannery (School of English)
  • Alice Franzon (Italian Studies)
  • Dr David Frier (Portuguese)
  • Lewis Greaves (GRASS, PhD)
  • Professor Paul Hammond (School of English) 
  • Dr Sameh Hanna Soliman (Arabic / Translation Studies)
  • Dr Alison Hardie (Chinese Studies)
  • Dr Irena Hayter (Japanese Studies)
  • Professor Malcolm Heath (Classics)
  • Dr Richard Hibbitt (French Studies)
  • Dr Owen Hodkinson (Classics)
  • Professor Diana Holmes (French Studies)
  • Margriet Hoogvliet (French Studies)
  • Professor Claire Honess (Italian Studies)
  • Dr Sarah Hudspith (Russian)
  • Professor Graham Huggan (School of English)
  • Professor Emeritus Rachel Killick (Quebec Studies and French)
  • Dr Claire Lozier (French Studies)
  • Dr Nicolò Maldina (Italian Studies)
  • Dr Regina May (Classics)
  • Professor John McLeod (School of English)
  • Dr Paul Melo e Castro (Portuguese)
  • Professor Jeremy Munday (Translation Studies)
  • Lourdes Parra Lazcano (SPLAS, PhD)
  • Dr David Pattinson (Chinese Studies)
  • Dr Federica Pich (Italian Studies)
  • Dr Thea Pitman (Latin American Studies)
  • Professor Jane Plastow (School of English)
  • Professor David Platten (French Studies)
  • Dr Jane Rickard (School of English)
  • Dr Arthur Rose (School of English)
  • Dr Massimo Rosposcher (Italian Studies)
  • Laura Lucia Rossi (Italian Studies) 
  • Dr Paul Rowe (French Studies)
  • Dr Nigel Saint (French Studies)
  • Dr Olivia Santovetti (Italian Studies)
  • Dr Chiara Sbordoni (Italian Studies)
  • Dr Andrew Stafford (French Studies)
  • Clara Stella (Italian Studies)
  • Dr Gigliola Sulis (Italian Studies)
  • Dr Caroline Summers (German / Translation Studies)
  • Professor Stuart Taberner (German Studies)
  • Dr Matthew Treherne (Italian Studies)
  • Professor Emeritus John R. G. Turner (Honorary Visiting Fellow, French Studies)
  • Dr Frances Weightman (Chinese Studies)
  • Dr Duncan Wheeler (Spanish Studies)
  • Dr Paul White (Comparative Literature)
  • Dr Lan Yang (Chinese Studies)
  • Kivilcim Yavuz (Institute for Medieval Studies)

Explore our profiles for more information about our academic team.