Pixels Ensemble

Pixels Ensemble

Mark Simpson (clarinet) Thelma Handy (violin) Jonathan Aasgaard (cello) Simone Rebello (percussion)

Arvo Pärt – Spiegel im Spiegel, for violin and piano
Toru Takemitsu – Rain Tree Sketch II (in memoriam Olivier Messiaen), for piano
Louis Andriessen – Woodpecker, for percussion
Georges Lentz – Nguurraa
Olivier Messiaen – Quartet for the End of Time, for clarinet, violin, cello and piano

Messiaen’s Quartet for the End of Time, written and premiered in Görlitz prisoner-of-war camp in 1941, has achieved iconic status in the chamber music literature. Pixels Ensemble precedes its performance of the piece with a shorter first half of items which reflect on elements in the Messiaen, and on the theme of remembrance.

Clothworkers Centenary Concert Hall, University of Leeds

Tickets: £15  |  £13 (advance saver – available until 27 October)  |  Free – students and under 16s