From Engagement to Empowerment: The Future of England's Heritage Open Days

Opportunity title

From Engagement to Empowerment: The Future of England's Heritage Open Days

Entry requirements

Strong applicants will have a good first degree in an appropriate subject, as well as a Master’s degree and professional experience relevant to the scope of the project (or experience of belonging to a collaborative team). Please note that all applicants should meet the AHRC’s academic criteria and residency requirements

Additional staff contact

Informal enquiries can be made by emailing Dr Claudia Sternberg at the University of Leeds, or Annie Reilly at Heritage Open Days

How to apply

Before applying for any WRoCAH Studentship, please first ensure that you have read the WRoCAH webpages about Collaborative Doctoral Awards, the WRoCAH training programme and requirements

Please note that the selection of Collaborative Doctoral Award applicants is a two stage process:


Applicants must apply for a place of study clearly stating to which project you wish to apply, by the deadline given below. 

To assess your academic ability to undertake three years of independent research you may be required to provide the following evidence:

  • Project Statement (a two-page statement that conveys your motivation and enthusiasm for the project and demonstrate your suitability for the intended study)
  • Curriculum Vitae
  • Transcripts of marks for undergraduate and postgraduate degrees plus certificates where available
  • Two academic references from referees who will be able to provide their references by the deadline for Stage 1 
  • IELTS Certificate (if applicable)

Interviews will then take place to select a suitable candidate. 

Deadline for STAGE 1 applications: 2 January 2019

Date of interviews: 10 January 2019


Apply for funding to WRoCAH

Candidates selected after Stage 1 then liaise with the project supervisory team to submit a WRoCAH studentship application via the WRoCAH online application form by the 5pm on Wednesday 23 January 2019 deadline.

NB: Candidates who have been unsuccessful in Phase One can submit a separate WRoCAH application as a non-CDA applicant.