Prepared 2 September 2019

ASSOCIATION FOR THE **S**TUDY OF **M**ODERN AND **C**ONTEMPORARY **F**RANCE (Registered Charity Number 1014382)



Agenda for the ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING of the Association, to be held at the University of London in Paris on 5 September 2019.

In attendance: Chris Tinker (chair), Fiona Barclay, Chris Reynolds, Maggie Allison, Tony Chafer, Nadia Kiwan, Aude Campmas, Marion Dumoissier, Elizabeth Benjamin, Nicole Fayard, Maura Stewart, Joanne Brueton, Mason Norton, Geoff Medland, Sian Reynolds, Philippe Lane, Conrad Smith, Owen Heathcote, Carrie Tarr, Frank McMahon, Barry Nevin, Máire Cross, Clare Siviter, Steve Wharton, Anna-Louise Milne.

1. Apologies for absence

Jan Windebank, Camille Jacob, Timo Obergoeker, Abigail Taylor, Chris O'Neill

2. Minutes of the meeting held on 13 September 2018, and Matters Arising

The minutes were accepted as presented.

3. Chair's business

Chris presented his report of the year's activities. He thanked outgoing members of the Exec, and invited feedback on the new website, and on the statement of values available in his report.

TO INCLUDE announcement of Prizes

- Brian Darling Memorial Essay Prize (ASMCF Prize) awarded to Araceli Irurzu, King's College London. Essay title: 'Only violence can cure the scars of colonial violence'.
- Douglas Johnson Memorial Essay Prize (ASMCF Prize) awarded to Jessica Phillip James, Coventry University, for an essay on 'Camus and Godard: An Analysis of the Representation of Absurdist Philosophy in Dramatic and Literary Movements in Post-War France'.
- Peter Morris Memorial Postgraduate Travel Prize (ASMCF Prize) awarded to Hannah Loret-Howick, Nottingham Trent University.

ECR Travel Prize (ASMCF Prize) – award tba.

4. Reports from Officers

4.1 Honorary Secretary's Report

Fiona presented her report, and invited members to consider applying to the Initiative Fund and Visiting Scholars' Seminar Series.

4.2 Honorary Treasurer's Report

Aude presented her report, and thanked Bangor University for their financial contribution from the conference. Tony Chafer questioned the Postgrad Essay prize; this was clarified by Fiona as being based on the best postgrad paper presented at the conference, and so awarded in due course.

4.3 Membership Secretary's Report

In Timo's absence, his report was accepted as read. Chris commented on the relatively high number of student members currently, and thanked Timo for his contribution.

4.4 Postgraduate Representative's Report

In their absence the Postgrads' report was accepted. Chris explained the need to appoint two new representatives this year and thanked the outgoing reps for their contribution.

4.5 Schools' Outreach Officer's Report In her absence, Camille's report was accepted. Chris emphasized the new avenues being explored in order to develop this aspect of activities, and thanked Camille for her contribution.

4.6 Web Officer's Report

Clare presented her report and talked about the process of developing and implementing the new website. She talked about the discounts available to members on the website, and invited members to consider sending in details and photos of Outreach Initiatives for inclusion on the website. Chris thanked her for her contribution as outgoing Web Officer.

4.7 Prizes Officer's Report

In Abigail's absence her report was presented. As she is stepping down Chris thanked her for her contribution as the first Prizes Officer.

5. Report from the Editor of Modern and Contemporary France

Martin spoke to his report, emphasising that the journal continues to be strong and with good copy flow, and encouraging members to contribute articles and book reviews. He thanked the anonymous reviewers who contribute to the journal.

Chris Reynolds presented the Book Reviews section and invited members to review books listed in the conference pack.

Chris Tinker thanked the Editors and Editorial board for their continued efforts.

6. Elections to the Executive Committee

TO ELECT President Honorary Secretary Web and Social Media Officer Prizes Officer Postgraduate Representatives

The following members were duly elected:

President: Chris Tinker (Heriot-Watt) Honorary Secretary: Fiona Barclay (Stirling) Web and Social Media Officer: David Lees (Warwick) Prizes Officer: Elizabeth Benjamin (Coventry) Postgraduate Representative (1 year): Megan Ison (Portsmouth) Postgraduate Representative (2 years): Helen McKelvey (QUB)

> TO CO-OPT Conference Organiser (University of Leeds)

Sarah Waters was duly co-opted as Conference Organiser.

7. Conferences and events

TO NOTE that the 2019 Conference shall be held at the University of Leeds from 10-12 September 2020, and that the Call for Papers shall be shortly posted on the Association's Website.

Nadia Kiwan raised the question of conference dates, and noted that earlier dates make attendance easier for colleagues from some institutions. Chris Tinker advised that dates are usually set by the conferene organisers in function of their availability.

Chris also raised the idea of conference themes, and proposed the idea of including some general panels, alongside a conference topic. Members commented that other conferences often take place in the first week of Sept (Sun,Mon,Tues), so the later part of the first week might be better.

Martin mentioned the question of succession planning for the Journal Editors, and advised that experience on the Editorial Board would be advantageous. Vacancies will be advertised shortly, with appointments in November.

Máire commended to the membership the Douglas Johnson Memorial lecture in January 2020, this year delivered by Debra Kelly.

Steve Wharton asked to record a particular vote of thanks to the founder members, those present and those departed.

8. Any Other Business

NB Urgent business not on the Agenda should be communicated to the Chair prior to the commencement of the meeting

Date of next Annual General Meeting

TO NOTE that the 2020 AGM shall be held at University of Leeds during the Association's Annual Conference.